Comforter stains

Answered!
Mark3534
Level 2
Hudson, NY

Comforter stains

I have multiple blood stains on white comforter . Should I request money for its cleaning?

1 Best Answer

I'm new to hosting but have an opinion. I would let the guest know about the blood on the comforter (take pictures) and tell them that you're going to have it cleaned (which I consider a cost of doing business) but, if the stains can't be removed, they are going to be charged to replace the comforter. My house rules state that the guest is responsible for any damage to the property and contents and guests will be charged for damages. I think notifying them first and trying to clean it and charging them if you can't is reasonable. I'm interested to see other hosts' feedback.

View Best Answer in original post

9 Replies 9

I'm new to hosting but have an opinion. I would let the guest know about the blood on the comforter (take pictures) and tell them that you're going to have it cleaned (which I consider a cost of doing business) but, if the stains can't be removed, they are going to be charged to replace the comforter. My house rules state that the guest is responsible for any damage to the property and contents and guests will be charged for damages. I think notifying them first and trying to clean it and charging them if you can't is reasonable. I'm interested to see other hosts' feedback.

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

@Debbie1192 

As you're new to hosting, you may not yet have discovered the risks of confronting guests with anything other than major damage.

Many will take it personally, and proceed to find anything wrong with your place, and point it out in their review, complete with exaggerations and sometimes completely fabricated atrocities. It will stay with your ratings forever, and there's little you can do about it.