Do you iron sheets?

Answered!
Angie601
Level 4
Victoria, Australia

Do you iron sheets?

Hi everyone

I'm new to hosting with my little cottage being listed for the past 3 months.

I want my guests to enjoy a 5 star stay so I take particular care with my bedding and I iron my linens.

My friends tell me I'm crazy and some that are also hosts tell me just to iron the top of the sheets that guests see.

I'm interested to know what others do.

Thank you for your feedback. 

Angie

2 Best Answers
Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

I'm all for ironing, all top quality cotton. But this discussion has been had in great depth before, there are several long threads on it.  Many hosts will think it's insane to iron but you do you. Guests will adore it. 

View Best Answer in original post

@Angie601 "I also touch up when I put the sheet on the bed"

As you're a new host, I will check in with you about a year from now, to see if you are still ironing the sheets. 😉

View Best Answer in original post

25 Replies 25
Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

Yes, I make my mother iron the sheets and pillowcases. It’s her only contribution to the Airbnb business and considering she keeps all the money, I feel it necessary. 

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Angie601 

I used to iron everything in the beginning, which was very time consuming. Now I iron the pillowcases before making the bed and then iron the sheet/duvet cover on the bed. I doubt that guests have noticed the difference. I don't think most guests notice that the linens have been ironed, but I do believe it does make a difference to their first impression (even if they only register it subconsciously). An inviting looking and comfortable bed is probably the most important element of the bedroom.

With the pillowcases, I usually iron them when they come out of the washing machine and then line dry them. It's quicker and easier to remove the creases and cuts down on the drying time.

Mark116
Level 10
Jersey City, NJ