Hot tub help

Answered!

Hot tub help

Hi host community!

 

We added a hot tub to our amenities over the winter (slow season), and so far all has been going well.   However,  we are a bit worried about the summer when we have quick turnover days.  Does anyone have experience with how you manage that?  For example, we did have one guest that left the tub quite dirty, and it’s a minimum 36 hours to get it cleaned, refilled and heated again. 

How do you manage the guests checking-in when the guests checking-out left the hot tub not usable?

 

Thanks for your advice!

francie 

1 Best Answer
Lorna170
Level 10
Swannanoa, NC

@Brandon-And-Francie0   If you have a hot tub, you have to account for cleaning time.  We empty ours for each rental (4 man tub) scrub and refill.  Ours takes only 6 to 8 hours to get to the optimal temperature.  We do let our guests know that because the hot tub is cleaned for their visit, it may not be ready until late the first night, depending on when housekeeping restarted it.

 

If you do not service the hot tub immediately upon guest departure, you cannot hope to have happy guests -- you may have to add preparation day(s) to your AirBnB calendar.

 

(you don't want to know what guests are doing in your hot tub.)

View Best Answer in original post

5 Replies 5
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

You need to leave more time between turnovers to allow you time to do cleaning and necessary checks on the hot tub @Brandon-And-Francie0 

Thanks @Helen3 .  I think we probably bought too big a tub (commented above with the last host).  Lesson learned on our end!  Thank you for your help though!

Lorna170
Level 10
Swannanoa, NC

@Brandon-And-Francie0   If you have a hot tub, you have to account for cleaning time.  We empty ours for each rental (4 man tub) scrub and refill.  Ours takes only 6 to 8 hours to get to the optimal temperature.  We do let our guests know that because the hot tub is cleaned for their visit, it may not be ready until late the first night, depending on when housekeeping restarted it.

 

If you do not service the hot tub immediately upon guest departure, you cannot hope to have happy guests -- you may have to add preparation day(s) to your AirBnB calendar.

 

(you don't want to know what guests are doing in your hot tub.)

Thanks so much for your help @Lorna170 !   Ours is an 8 person, so it does take longer to flip. It basically means if we have to do a full empty instead of a half empty (to be environmentally conscious), that the tub is out of commission for the first night. It’s smart to let them just know that up front: the first night is unlikely to be an option due to cleaning. That seems fair. Thank you! 

We have a larger hot tub and find that most people never use it in the summer.  To that end we usually shut it down for the summer.  We let the guests know it's seasonal but they can requests it and then we will fill and turn it on for them.  During the winter when it's cold we leave it on but a small percentage actually use it.  However it is a big seller when they book.