Private outdoor areas in shared home

Answered!
Suzanne781
Level 3
Baltimore, MD

Private outdoor areas in shared home

I have a single-family home in Baltimore, and my husband and I live on the main floor and the top floor. The basement suite is the Airbnb. They have a private entrance, and a bistro set next to the door with a table and two chairs. I am a relatively private person, and I respect other people’s privacy as well, and the manual states that the back yard and the front porch are private, only to be used by the owners. We have only had this happen one other time, where somebody was sitting on our front steps using their phone, but now we’ve got a guest here for a month, and she has already ventured into the backyard, and also onto the front porch. I am not very good with confrontation, even in the most polite sense, and she is very friendly, so I’m trying to find a way to let her know that those areas are only for us without sounding rude.  I am thinking of hanging little signs on the front porch area and at the back gates for the backyard, and see if she gets that hint. She is currently sitting on my front porch working. It is clear to me that she has not read the manual.  Has anybody put up signs that were friendly but also restricted access before for outdoor areas? If so, I would love recommendations for one, because I did not find any online that seemed friendly or suitable for outdoors. Thank you so much in advance. 

1 Best Answer
Gifty5
Level 9
Chicago, IL