Winter Release Q&A with Airbnb’s Christy Schrader

Winter Release Q&A session

Questionable refund to guest.

Answered!
Lisa9630
Level 1
Isle of Palms, SC

Questionable refund to guest.

Hi, I’m new to hosting on Airbnb. I am in my Second month of hosting and had an incident with some renters this past weekend. They checked in around five , went to dinner,  came back said they popped a beer and it wasn’t very cold. They brought their own “temperature reader” and put it in the refrigerator and said it was 64°. I received a message on the app at 9:45 PM saying the refrigerator wasn’t working and so I offered to bring a large cooler and some ice to them so they could put their food and drink in until I could get someone over there the next day.  They said that wasn’t necessary and  they would wait till Monday. I sent my handyman over there because I couldn’t get a service man there until Tuesday. He arrived at 10 AM and couldn’t find any problems with the refrigerator. It was 38° according to my refrigerator’s reading but the guest brought her own “temperature reader” and it read 41. The guest sent me a picture of the reading at 41° and another time she sent me a picture of her thermometer reading 44°. At no time did she send me a picture of her thermometer reading 64°. She refused to believe my Handyman, so I was able to get a service man over there the next day, Tuesday. He spent 30 minutes inspecting  and did not find any problems with the refrigerator. He told me  that a broken refrigerator does not repair itself. He said if it were broken and read 64°. it would have gotten hotter and not colder. He also said the temperature reader that they brought was inaccurate. He emailed me the service report stating that the refrigerator is in great working order and nothing is wrong with it. I emailed the renter the service report as well as sent it to her on the Airbnb app. The service call cost me $110. They have been checked out for four days and I just received, a messag