Smart lock options in the UK

Christopher1939
Level 2
Christchurch, United Kingdom

Smart lock options in the UK

Hello 

I am replying to my own question as it may be useful to others!

I am very new to airbnb hosting, not a single guest yet, just setting up, and may have not fully understood the community platform fully. 

Is it possible to restrict the community to UK only? 

First big smart lock learning is that the States are way ahead of us with this stuff and a lot of locks that come up on searches will not work in the UK.

Most UK doors are multi point whereas most US locks are deadbolts.

It seems that airbnb are also ahead of the game in the States with smart locks integrating with the airbnb platform unless theres something i've not discovered yet. 

So from my research it came down to a choice of 3:

Ultion Nuki, Yale Conexis L1 or L2 and Loqed

Ultimately it was a no brainer as in addition to a virtual key I also wanted a key pad for those who didn't like the idea of a virtual key or downloading an app, which excluded the Loqed, and a good old fashioned key in an external key safe for when all else fails, and that only left the Ultion Nuki

They have a great online quiz that confirms for you whether or not the Nuki will be appropriate for your door.

That then leads you to two options:

1. Where you have a door where the euro cyclinder is  combined within a door plate that also contains the handle, you need the Ultion Nuki Plus

The Plus refers to the actual Nuki lock being a Pro lock i.e. the wifi is built in within the lock and you do not need a separate bridge in a socket nearby.

The wifi component is essential if you wish to send virtual keys to guests.

So you can have the Ultion Nuki with a bridge or just the Ultion Nuki Plus

The former also only comes in white where I have a black door so this was another reason to get the Plus as it comes in white and black.