Announcements

Winter Release Q&A with Airbnb’s Christy Schrader

Winter Release Q&A session

What do you do with refrigerated products that people leave?

Answered!
Nina204
Level 6
Pittsburgh, PA

What do you do with refrigerated products that people leave?

I have been Airbbing my property for about 3 months now. 

Some people leave refridgerated and frozen items.  The things that have been opened I usually discard other than dressing, ketchup etc.  What is everyone's opinion on keeping things for the next guest?  If someone had ice cream that they used should I leave it or would you find that gross? 

I personally wouldn't eat it but know others that would appreciate it.   This is a whole house so the guests have the house to themselves which I think may make a difference.  Thanks for any opinions

Top Answer

I agree with the others on tossing opened items except condiments.

However for the never opened or used items I simply check the expiration date. If the grocery store would allow a return within their return period of an unwanted unopened unexpired item and stick it back on the shelf then I don't see the harm in keeping it.

For the opened items (which although gross is still technically perfectly good food in most cases ) i am lucky because I have a longer-term tenant who started as an Airbnb guest that I am now helping while he is in school.  He came from a country where a lot of people are very poor and therefor he was raised not to waste anything. So he gladly takes any and all of the still edible food (checking if it's still good first of course) they happen to leave behind. 

I wonder how hard it would  be to ontact the local homeless shelter or see if there is any programs with your local government or church would possibly take unspoiled items off you hands and hand them out. Or you could always had it out to them personally .