Just getting started and want to learn about expectations

Elizabeth3572
Level 1
Virginia Beach, VA

Just getting started and want to learn about expectations

Hi all 👋

I'm new to AirBNB and I'm hoping to connect with someone to learn about the best way to engage with our guests. How can I set the proper house rules without being too pushy. What kind of rules should I set and what am I not thinking of.

Liz

5 Replies 5
Julie5882
Level 4
Tiverton, RI

Hi Elizabeth!

What a beautiful property! When it comes to house rules I recommend you work within your comfort level. This is your investment so "pushy" doesn't need to be a concern when it comes to protecting it. If you prefer shoes taken off, say so...etc.

Consider any special considerations for your location that should be noted. If wildlife is a concern around outdoor garbage, I would mention that. 

Some descriptions that maybe I missed in your listing:

I would comment on the bunk beds and queen bed sharing an open loft. That would be a consideration for families and they may not realize the layout.

Do guests have access to the basement? If so, photos please. If not, note that.

Best of luck to you!

Julie S. Jenkins

Thank you so much for the advice and for helping with information I didn't even think of. 

Andrea6232
Level 10
Bergamo, Italy

Ciao @Elizabeth3572 ,

very nice chalet! Just a little suggestion: I noticed that there are some duplicate photos, it would be better to delete them 😉

Andrea

https://airbnb.com/h/la-casa-sul-canale-con-piscina-jacuzzi-in-giardino

Bryan934
Level 2
St Ives, United Kingdom

Hi

i keep the rules basic on airbnb

when I send my guests messages before they arrive I have quick messages set to go with things like don’t walk around with dirty shoes, take the key out of the door.

then when they arrive I try and meet my guests and have a chat with them. 
pointing out anything I think they may need to know

you may get the odd pushy guest,