New to Airbnb

New to Airbnb

I Am brand new to Airbnb, and after attempting to reserve a location I was told by a Hostess that I'm not able to reserve due to new guidelines and needing to have reviews from previous hosts before I can rent her location. My question is how, if I am new would I get a review or are there any extenuating circumstances that will waive that provision?

4 Replies 4
Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Maria13410  Some hosts do require guests to have positive reviews from stays with other hosts. Once a stay is complete, the host and guest are each given the opportunity to write a review. Try another place. There are many hosts who happily accept new Airbnb members. It helps if you have a complete profile and engage the host with a friendly introduction of yourself and any other guests who would be joining you, the purpose of your trip, and why you are interested in their place.

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

Your profile write-up says nothing but "Lives in Phoenix". There are plenty of hosts who will accept a guest with no reviews, but showing that you understand that a host would want to know something about the person who is requesting to stay in their home would at least inspire a little confidence. You don't have write an autobiography, just state in one or two short paragraphs a bit about yourself. Just be as natural as possible-it can have a humorous element if that is your style, or just be factual. The main thing is to let a host get a sense of who you are and what sort of work and activities you do.

Airbnb should really make this sort of thing known to guests, but I guess they don't, or guests don't pay attention to it.