Guest wanting to shorten stay 1 day into their stay

Guest wanting to shorten stay 1 day into their stay

Hi all!
I am new to Air BnB and just currently have my second guest staying at my Air BnB. Today, 1 day after arriving, she requested to leave early citing changes in her work situation. At first she attempted to request a change via the app but after researching I learned this will lead to a full refund of her remaining days which doesn't seem fair for me to carry the loss for her change so I instead guided her to call Air BnB to cancel, as I read this enacts the cancelation policy. When she did she told them she didn't feel safe staying alone as a female, despite the fact the place is located in a safe family suburb and is requesting a refund. I received this information from one of Air BnB's support team and ending with, "I'll wait until I hear back from you, before I take any action."

What should I do in this situation? There are 2 of the 4 days remaining. If I don't refund her I worry I will receive a negative review which this early on could be quite damning but refunding her doesn't feel fair either. Would love your insights and guidance! 

3 Replies 3
Inna22
Level 10
Chicago, IL

@Yolande96 yes, this is a tough situation and I am afraid your only option to (almost) assure a good review is to refund in full.

Since she has reached out to Airbnb with this lie, she is obviously expecting a full refund and is willing to get it at any cost. She’s already unhappy.

My personal policy is to never buy a review but I’m also fortunate enough to have many so one bad one can’t hurt me. 

As I see it, you have two options:

fully refund her and expressed to her that you’re new to this, this will be a huge financial loss for you but you just want her to be happy. Basically just shower her with pleasantries. Even that won’t guarantee you a positive review or any review for that matter but will make one more likely.