Welcome to the London section!

Lizzie
Former Community Manager
Former Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Welcome to the London section!

Hi everyone,

Welcome to the London specific section where you can connect with other hosts in your area and post local discussions, for example, topics on booking trends, general local recommendations, meetups and events.

As always, please remember to keep the Community Center Guidelines in mind also when you interact on this board.

--------------------

Thank you for the last 7 years, find out more in my Personal Update.

Looking to contact our Support Team, for details...take a look at the Community Help Guides.

5 Replies 5
Anna165
Level 2
London, United Kingdom

Hi I wanted to see if other Airbnb hosts are having the same problem ie. a big drop off in bookings this year.  I've been hosting for two years and the last two summers I've had constant bookings.   This summer it's really Spartan - no advance bookings for June/July/August .. I've always been booked right up in the summer at good prices too.  This summer I've had to cut all my prices right down in order to get ANY bookings.  I met a couple of Airnbnb hosts on a recent course and found they were also experiencing the same problem.  One had an apartment and was ready to give up hosting due to lack of bookings... what's going on?  My theories -

* big drop in Americans due to terrorism fears all over Europe.

* lots of jumpers on the bandwagon ie many people buying  buy-to-let properties and renting out multiple rooms to Airbnb guests in order to get premium prices.  Result - a glut of absenteee hosts, renting cheap cheap and giving v little service.

What do you think?  What's your current experience

Anna

30 May 2016

Penny0
Level 2
London, United Kingdom

Hi Anna