adding on local taxes to renter bill

Kathy173
Level 1
Manhattan Beach, CA

adding on local taxes to renter bill

I am new to Air bnb.  I would like to know how (in the future) to make sure the renter gets the local taxes added on to his/her bill.  There is lots of info ABOUT the VAT, but I have searched for an icon to actually have it on their bill.  The info given by Air BnB lists California as one of the states that Air BnB can collect it up front, but it does not explain how to have it appear in renters bill.  I am stuck (lesson learned!) with my first renter not having it on his bill 😞

Please help!

kathy

6 Replies 6
Francis78
Level 2
Pasadena, CA

Did you ever find the icon for the tax?  I saw some of the other host have it on their booking screen.  I too am new to Airbnb and searching for that icon, but no luck.  😞

Here is what I learned so far:

-the bed tax is the same tax that hotels have to add, so calling any local hotel and asking what % it is works

-bed tax is only applicable when the rental is 30 days , it is considered "month to month"

Kt3
Level 1
Garden Grove, CA

following.... Have the same problem.. Help guide me to add local tax

This is a serious problem with airbnb! Here is my conversation with their "Help Team"

Need to know the best way to include Hawaii GET and TAT taxes in pricing for bookings. This needs to be collected up front and paid, in turn, by me to the State of Hawaii. Also, will this preclude instant bookings if I use a "Special Offer"?

-------------------

Hi Bob & Ivonne,

Greetings of the day & I hope this message finds you in the best of your health and high spirits. My name is Neeraj and I am a part of Airbnb's Customer Experience Team. 
First of all, I am glad that you took out time and you reported this to us. I do see that you are associated with Airbnb from last 6 years. I would really like to thank you for investing your trust in us. It really means a lot.