AirBnB photo shoot offer. Should I do it??

Kia272
Level 10
Takoma Park, MD

AirBnB photo shoot offer. Should I do it??

I know I've read more than one post here about how people were disappointed by their AirBnB photo shoot. I believe some of the issues range from the quality (or lack thereof) of the photos, as well as the fact that AirBnB somehow owns the photos? 

I feel that my listing would really benefit from professional photos. I tried to do this through AirBnB when I first started out, but the service wasn't available in my area. I'm doing fine with reservations, but I know better photos would better illustrate what I'm offering. 

Now, they sent me an offer that's super cheap. Something about how this service is discounted through August 31st. The price is $70??? Not too much to lose if they don't turn out well. 

Should I do it? 

Thoughts on this are very welcome. 

Thanks! 

Kia

40 Replies 40

I am a professional photographer and my photos are true to what’s in my B&B and I used my iPhone to take pics. But if it’s only $70 that’s a heck of a deal and a great way to help promote your place. 

Hostess of Hunters Dream B and B
Lenore22
Level 10
California, United States

@Kia272 Your listing is lovely.  And while the photos clearly aren't professional, they seem to be accurate and your reviews are absolutely STELLAR!

"The cabin was everything we expected and more. We loved the furnishings and decor...a visual treat for sure."

In some ways, less-than-perfect photos set the stage & expectation realistically such that people aren't disappointed when they walk in and it doesn't feel like a magazine.  I say keep them.  Maybe even widdle them down.

@Lenore22 that is so kind of you. Thank you! 

I totally understand the under promise and over deliver concept. I do feel that my photos fairly accurately depict my place. What I don't think I've captured is the scale- I think a professional with a wide angle lens might be better able to do so.