Charging late checkout fee

Sarah3595
Level 3
Bideford, United Kingdom

Charging late checkout fee

I am new to hosting.

I’m getting some requests for check out. 

Does anyone charge extra for late check out and if so how do you go about requesting the additional cost though Airbnb from the guest after they have booked. 

S McGeough
4 Replies 4
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Sarah3595 we don't charge for late check out (or early check in) but we only offer it if there is no booking coming later that day or staying the night before. I think the goodwill generated is worth more than a few extra £s.

Jennifer1897
Level 10
Irvine, CA

I get request here and there for late checkout and early check in. If I am able to accommodate it, I do so free of charge. As @Mike-And-Jane0 said,  being accommodating and nice to your guest for a relatively small requests is worth more then the minimal extra amount of funds. 

I did have a guest once ask (In advance) to check out at 9pm,  as he had a late flight. At that point I did tell him he would need to book another night, as he was rendering that night un-bookable due to the late departure time. 

If you do indeed wish to move forward with fees based upon later check outs your best bet would be to establish the rates beforehand and post it somewhere so the guest is well aware. You would then need to request the extra fee through the airbnb platform. The guest would accept the extra charge and be billed as they normally would, with the funds being dispersed to you after. 

David7362
Level 2
Springwood, Australia