Denial Pending on Short-Term Rental Registration Application with the New York City Mayor’s Office of Special Enforcement (OSE)

Martine231
Level 2
New York, NY

Denial Pending on Short-Term Rental Registration Application with the New York City Mayor’s Office of Special Enforcement (OSE)

Hello and any advice?,

I sent my application for the Short-Term Rental Registration Application with the New York City Mayor’s Office of Special Enforcement (OSE) late August 2023. I received a response on December 19, 2023 of Denial Pending ... until March 2024. I am not a lawyer. How can I figure out how to manoeuvre all this?
I wish airbnb could get their lawyers on the case to guide us hosts. Any advice?

Here is the response from OSE:
|

This email is to inform you that your Short-Term Rental Registration Application with the New York City Mayor’s Office of Special Enforcement (OSE) has been reviewed. Based on the existing submission, OSE will deny the application for the following reason: (1) The submitted listing offers illegal occupancy, specifically the listing offers [an entire home rental], and may be corrected by replacing the listing or modifying the listing to offer legal occupancy

(2) the submitted listing appears to offer illegal occupancy, specifically it appears to offer an unhosted listing, and may be corrected by replacing the listing with one that offers a legal occupancy or amending the listing to make clear that the stay is hosted within the unit that is the subject of the application

(3) the legal occupancy of the building appears to be for more than one unit but the application does not specify the unit number applied for, and this may be corrected either by a) providing the specific unit applied for or b) submitting proof of permission from the NYC Department of Buildings to use the space as a single family home