Michigan Zoning Ordinances

Casey342
Level 1
Detroit, MI

Michigan Zoning Ordinances

Hi community!

I've been hosting an home in Michigan successfully for two years, and love it. I have attempted, however, to expand into other cities and been blocked by the various cities and villages throughout Michigan that simply do not allow short term rentals at all of any sort. More common are those that only allow rentals for 30 days or more, which is not financially viable. 

Now, the city that I currently host in has hired an attorney to send me a cease and desist letter personally, informing me that my short term rental is no longer allowed, and I must close up shop. I immediately contacted my own attorney, who told me there's nothing I can do. 

Is this true? Are more and more cities locking out short term rentals? Are there any better attorneys more equipped with this to help us sort this out? I am not okay with shrugging my shoulders and allowing these cities to force my doors to close just for fun. 

Thanks for any insight you have!

9 Replies 9
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Are you saying your city is banning short term rentals outright @Casey342 . This would be highly unusual . 

Or are you being told your STR business is not complying with local STR restrictions? 

Cities are not intro STR regulations 'for fun' as you state but quite rightly because of the adverse impact unrestricted STR growth is having on local communities.  STRs have pushed up LTR and housing price cling meaning key workers are unable to live in a community leading to shortages of key workers . Some STR owners do not keep their property in a decent standard as they are not regulated and some investor STR owners don't care absolutely yet the impact noisy and unsocial guests have on communities . 

so introducing STR regulations in oversaturated markets is for me a good thing @Casey342 

Hi Helen,