New York City Short Term Rentals for 1 and 2 family homes

Answered!
Silvia247
Level 3
New York, NY

New York City Short Term Rentals for 1 and 2 family homes

Hi,

Does anyone know why these type of dwellings are being targeted by the city?

What is going to happen after registering with the city? 
Do we have to remove our listing? Do we have to cancel our reservations?

THIS IS DEVASTATING.  I DEPEND ON THIS SUPPLEMENTAL INCOME TO PAY MY MORTGAGE. 
I am a retired teacher and STRs is the best way for me to protect my investment. 
Aside from writing comments, participating in the hearings and send emails to the mayor, what else can we do? 
I have written to different officials and received zero replies. 

1 Best Answer
Sheldon53
Level 2
New York, NY

Hello,

I live in New York .  I own a co-op and my board elected to put my building on the no short-term rental listings.  It means I will not be able to register or do Airbnb.  I work currently but the e tea money really helped.  If you have any updates on this or how we can fight this interference e, that would be great. 

View Best Answer in original post

15 Replies 15
Helen744
Level 10
Victoria, Australia

@Silvia247 I am not sure about your area Silvia but its probably worth not worrying too much about it but stay in the loop and in touch with 'city hall; as it were or your local council . It allows local governance, to maybe be able to know who owns a property more quickly in case of an emergency so not all bad,but any fees or charges or regulations on numbers of guests may be where they attempt to control the situation or from other comments, maybe restrictions to less than 28 days... H

You can be fined thousands of dollars for not complying. 

Everyone knows that. Txs

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Sorry what do you mean by targeting ? @Silvia247