Studios and 1 BR in Albuquerque or Nashville

Tausha3
Level 2
San Jose, CA

Studios and 1 BR in Albuquerque or Nashville

Hello everyone!

I am thinking about getting into rental arbitrage but I want to start small. Would it be bad to start off with a studio or one-bedroom unit? The two markets I am most interested in at the moment are Albuquerque, NM and Nashville, TN. I live in CA so I’m thinking I would manage the property remotely after working with a real estate agent to find a homeowner who would be willing to rent their property to me for STR.

Any guidance or feedback on this would be most appreciated as I have no experience in this space.

Thanks in advance!

Tausha

2 Replies 2
Guy991
Top Contributor
Sintra, Portugal

Hello @Tausha3 ,

Renting the property is the easiest part. But who will handle the cleaning, maintenance, and check-in? You'll likely need a local co-host (taking around 15% of your income) near the property. The smaller the unit, the harder it is to find someone to manage it. Considering all the costs involved in running a single studio apartment remotely, I'm not sure it will be profitable. Even if it is, having a poorly managed property with low ratings isn't worth it. You might end up renting it out long-term, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but our focus here is on short-term rentals.

Starting small means finding a property nearby that you can manage yourself, so you'll learn the ins and outs. Then, you can scale up with more units and hopefully enlist co-hosts further away to work for you.

Helen3
Top Contributor
Bristol, United Kingdom

I would disagree @Guy991 in many countries finding a landlord willing to let you do arbitrage is the hardest part.

Most landlords wouldn't want to put their properties at risk by doing so .

as you know arbitrage often invalidates building insurance of those doing arbitrage can't take out home insurance for short term lets