decline in bookings

Kimberly873
Level 2
Lancaster, CA

decline in bookings

Is anyone else having a huge and I mean huge decline in bookings. I have been doing this for 3 years and have always stayed booked. Out of 30 days I am booked 29 of them at least. Over the past month my bookings have dropped so dramatically that I am starting to panic. Anyone else dealing with this issue? Please help

17 Replies 17
Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD

@Kimberly873 do you think its because of the summer roll out with the categories? ABB seems to be emphasizing spaces that fit in one of the categories and look great on the first page. I have heard from other hosts that this has been detrimental to spaces that are more "normal" and skewed toward a yurt or a castle. 

Thanks for the info and your time to address my question. How do I find out what category I am in and how can I fix this?

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Kimberly873 

It's a bit of a pain in the backside to find out which category/categories you are in and you might not be in any of them.

You need to do a search by clicking on the individual category and zooming the map in on your area. You might need to zoom in very, very close to see it as not all the listings in the category automatically show up on the map. The whole thing is very badly designed.

If you find that you are either not in a category that you think you should be or are in a category you don't want to be in, you can call customer services and ask for them to change it. They will review the listings and decide and they won't necessarily agree with you, but they are supposed to get back to you within seven days.

I did this and the whole thing only took a couple of days. They put my listings in the relevant categories. I can't say that it's made any difference yet though, because you pretty much have to zoom in over my house to see my listings.

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Kimberly873