17 year olds renting an apartment?

17 year olds renting an apartment?

Hello,

Sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong place, I'm new to this ☺️ I'm looking to go away with my boyfriend in late August to celebrate the end of our exams. I'll be 17 and he'll be two weeks off 18. My parents will be booking the apartment and of course are totally supporting the trip. Will we be allowed to rent an airbnb apartment? Should we tell the host beforehand or is it better just not to mention it and create an issue, as we're both of course very responsible and only looking for a quiet long weekend together?

Thank you 🙂
2 Replies 2
Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

Hi Katie, a couple of issues here. You have to book your own place, it can't be booked by your parents. And all users have to be over 18, as far as I am aware. If you didn't tell the host and just showed up, you would very likely be turned away as you were not the guests actually booked to stay, and you would lose your money. Maybe just wait until you are old enough to have your own account?

Andrée2
Level 10
Portland, OR

@Katie53,