A little hope, anybody?

Answered!
Julie1295
Level 2
New York, NY

A little hope, anybody?

Hi, I’m Julie and I am a Brooklyn artist and photographer, or at least I thought I was. Now, I dont even know what I’ll be doing with my life. Lost my part time job as a waitress, art show cancelled and no photography gigs since most of my clients were restaurants. I have also been a superhost for the last year and I have worked so hard on turning my home into what its been for my guests: a unique space reflecting the authentic brooklyn artist lifestyle.

In October 2018 my landlord gave me permission to airbnb my extra 2 rooms instead of getting roommates. Seeing it as the amazing opportunity it was, I gave it my all and invested in what was only a dream I had to work to make come true.

After spending months investing and creatively furnishing in a tasteful and thoughtful manner... I was able to finally make it happen! I was able to pay for a 3 bed 15 mins away from Manhattan. I made amazing lifetime friends all over the world, learned to love with doing bedding laundry almost every day and kept my house exceptionally clean at all times.

Even with all of the criticism from my friends and anybody else that knew, I was able to sell them my lifestyle. Constantly posted visual content on my social media, interacted and continue to interact with my guests, got 3 of my girlfriends to start doing it themselves and even attended to meetings to defend our rights as hosts in NYC.

All the work was well worth it up until the beginning of March 2020, of course. Well, more like January but that was just low season. COVID19 couldn’t had waited for a better time to strike... I had been paying for 50% of the total monthly rent for 2 months before this whole thing happened.