A new prospect wanted to visit my place before booking

Answered!
Judith630
Level 2
Hainesport, NJ

A new prospect wanted to visit my place before booking

Hi everyone a new prospect wants to visit my place before registering.  She is familiar with my area.  Is that something to consider.  I'm new to this platform. Please advice, I will appreciate it. 

1 Best Answer
Ann72
Level 10
New York, NY

@Judith630 - @Debra300 is 100% right.  Here is what Airbnb says about guests who want to see a place before booking:  https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/47/what-should-i-do-if-a-guest-wants-to-see-my-place-before-book...

And here's what I say lol:

Nope.jpg

View Best Answer in original post

10 Replies 10
Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Judith630,

No, No, No!!!  For privacy and security reasons, you should never let a prospective guest visit your space before booking.  Inform the guests that it's against Airbnb policy, and that the photos of your space are current (be sure they are).  If the guest is unwilling to abide by this rule, they are likely to break other rules during their stay.

@Ann72@Emilia42, @Helen3, @Huma0@Sarah977 , @Lawrene0, @Alexandra316 

Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciated it.  Thank you so much.

Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Judith630Big no from me. I did it a couple of times when I was new, and it was a waste of time. Also, most people just use it as an opportunity to try and get a discount and go off-platform. 

@Judith630 and @Alexandra316,

I am more cynical, I think that some people use this as an opportunity to see what's valuable in your home to be stolen, and who resides in the home to plan for the theft.

@Debra300  That was my thought, too - casing the joint!  And that's why Airbnb doesn't give out the contact info until the guest has booked.

Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME