Advice needed re smoking

Melissa1285
Level 1
Montclair, NJ

Advice needed re smoking

Looking for a bit of advice, I’ve been hosting Airbnb for a few years and never any major issues. I require a $300 deposit and have a strict no smoking policy. But a month ago I made a rental to a first time Airbnb guest who was very pleasant and polite and communicated effectively during his stay. So much so that we extended his stay one additional night.

That being said, when I arrive back at the apartment the entire home reeked of cigarette smoke. I found incense sticks lit and ashes on my floor in three rooms. Like a normal person I open the windows and waited a couple days to see if I could ventilate it myself- being six months pregnant I am sensitive to smells so during this time I had to make alternative arrangements for my own living. After about a week of home remedies and ventilation I looked into professional cleaning which was well over my security deposit of $300.

I tried to contact the guest and of course no answer so I then contacted Cody at Airbnb and after a week of back-and-forth emails and they promised to escalate my concern to a supervisor I am left with nothing because I do not have evidence of cigarettes smoked in my home. How has this been handled by other renters?

I won’t rent it again knowing I don’t have the support of air B&B.

Regards,

Melissa 

3 Replies 3
Trevor243
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Melissa1285  Any time you rent out a property, whether it's through AirBnB or other OTA or your website or whatever, you will get issues like this. You can set as may rules as you want, but sometimes, people will break your rules. You often won't get any support from OTAs.