Air fresheners?

Josh1450
Level 2
Mascoutah, IL

Air fresheners?

Hi all,

I've been using plug-in air fresheners in my Airbnb for a few months.  They don't last very long, so I thought I'd get your advice on what might last longer.

However, after a quick search, I see that some of you don't recommend them at all, and I saw one of you would refuse to stay in a place that had them.

My airbnb doesn't smell bad at all, and although I allow pets, I have LVP floors so there is never any dog odor.  I just wanted it to have a little extra something pleasant for guests to enjoy, but perhaps no scent at all is better than something that some would not like.
What say ye? 

Thanks for your input.

11 Replies 11

@Josh1450  Taste in fragrances is very subjective - there's no one scent that is universally enjoyed by everyone. I, for one, hate the smell of air fresheners. Some people I know have bad reactions to the chemicals they contain, which can be anything from mildly irritant to neurotoxic.  See also: https://www.madesafe.org/toxic-chemicals-in-air-fresheners/

I would suggest leaving a nice bottle of essential oil spray in the bathroom, so guests can discreetly decide for themselves whether to use it. I'd steer clear of the plug-ins or anything that lingers in the air.

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

@Josh1450 @Anonymous 

We've discovered an effective treatment for the "smell of life" as I like to refer to it.

Any place where someone lives, cooks, eats, showers, sleeps, and all other of life's essentials will acquire lingering scents. The "smell of life".

Using scents to cover up other scents doesn't really eliminate the "smell of life". So a friend of ours loaned us an "ozonator". It's an electronic device that produces ozone, a naturally occurring gas that absorbs odours and humidity as well. Large amounts of ozone are produced during thunderstorms, for example, and is in part, the reason why things smell fresh after a thunderstorm. So we tried it.