AirBNB refunding guests without basis...? Frustrated? Me too...

Kynan0
Level 2
Surfers Paradise, Australia

AirBNB refunding guests without basis...? Frustrated? Me too...

So, i am a lawyer in Australia, and the following happened and i cannot make sense of it:

Case 1 - Guest asks for refund due to Covid. Original booking pre-March 2020. Date of stay - Feb 2021. She contacted AirBNB, who told her that her circumstance isnt covered. Guest then abuses me online. I still refuse. Guest now calls back AirBNB, gets a different employee, who hands her the money back, no questions asked. I point out the below Covid Policy which was updated 1-Oct, and AirBNB ignores me. I'm now down $10,000 on that booking.

Case 2 - Guest asks for refund due to Covid. Original booking pre-March 2020. Date of stay - 12 Dec 2020. She contacted AirBNB, who told her that her circumstance isnt covered. Guest then abuses me online. I still refuse. Guest now calls back AirBNB, gets a different employee, who hands her the money back, no questions asked. I tell AirBNB - her booking is NOT covered by the new 1-Oct policy, and the AirBNB employee says "that policy is open to interpretation and you interpreted it wrong. The mention of 'today' in the policy doesnt mean 1-Oct when the policy was created, its the date the guest make a claim for a refund". AirBNB explanation is this - If the guest tries to cancel  more than 45 days before the checkin date, they get no refund. If they wait until the stay is less than 45 days, they get a full refund. Sooooo, any guest can now just cancel an booking in less than 45 days and get a refund??? THis makes NO sense. I argued the point, and was told "you have your explanation of the policy, end of story".  I am now about $8,500 down.