AirBnb holds my booking hostage, requires government ID and my Facebook/Google/LinkedIn contacts

Pavel36
Level 2
California, United States

AirBnb holds my booking hostage, requires government ID and my Facebook/Google/LinkedIn contacts

I have been using Airbnb as a guest for a few years already, received only good reviews, and never had a problem with booking before. Yesterday I sent the request to book the boat in California, the host accepted it today. However, in a few minutes after that Airbnb blocked my account and demanded to verify it with government ID. I tried to do it 5(five!) times! Every time after uploading my ID Airbnb was sending the message "Great! You’re all set. Thanks for helping us continue to make Airbnb a place where everyone can travel and host with confidence." But after that I was receiving an e-mail that I have to do it again. I have called the customer service 4 times, but the only thing they could say was to try again. During my last conversation with customer service I was told that I also have to link my gmail or LinkedIn accounts with my Airbnb account. When you link gmail account, Airbnb wants to "View your contacts", and for LinkedIn they want to "Use your 1st and 2nd degree connections' data". This is utterly unacceptable! There is no way I will give the access to the personal information of my friends and acquaintances who didn't give me permission to share their data with anybody else. It's a first time I see such a bizarre request from an online business.