Airbnb Managers partnering with local realtors?

Sam159
Level 1
Winhall, VT

Airbnb Managers partnering with local realtors?

Hi All,

I am a property manager looking to get set up on Airbnb so diversify a little!

I was wondering if anyone has any experience in working with local realtors to increase their portfolio of rentals they manage? If so, what type of deal was struck? I know that there must be a way to benefit both parties while still making a healthy profit for the owners of the property!

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all in advance.

Sam

24 Replies 24
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

Why would you go through a realtor and not contract directly with the owner?

David
Wendy-and-Frank0
Level 10
Stonington, CT

I'm a real estate agent.  I'm not sure I understand what it is you would want a real estate agent to do for you.

In the non-BNB world, I charge one month's rent as my commission from the landlord and 10% of rents collected to manage the property.  This is when I represent the landlord.  I don't like to represent the tenants for a variety of reasons.

In the BNB world, I don't know where I would fit in.

The "tenant" registers through ABB.  ABB handles all the money.  "Landlord" agrees to accept or not accept the "tenant".

Why would a real estate agent be needed?

Hi Wendy, I'd be curious, what kind of property management duties do you perform for the landlord? I'm in the process of getting my real estate license, and would be interested 8n hearing what works/doesn't work? Ever thought of doing property management for Airbnb as well?

Hello Wendy,

there are markets where landlords are basically relying 99% of the time with real estate agents (here in Luxembourg it works like that).

In these scenarios is almost impossible to get in touch with landlords directly. All the "craiglist" like platforms have basically listing put by real estate agents.... not landlords.