Airbnb unlawfully withholding amounts

Airbnb unlawfully withholding amounts

Hi, I recently just had an issue that had not occurred before. 
airbnb withheld income tax as if I were a US resident. 
my listing is a Mexican listing, I am a Mexican resident (both physically and for tax purposes), my property is in Mexico, my guest was also Mexican, yet Airbnb withheld money from a payout as withholding for US income tax. They said that this applies to all US listings (mine is not) and that I have to fill out a form that is only applicable if I was a US resident (which I won’t fill out as it could have adverse tax consequences from other sources of income I have). 
customer service has been terrible to I was thinking of seeking consumer protection since Airbnb is not answering my emails anymore. 
Does anyone know if there is anything else I can do before seeking a legal action? Thank you. 

44 Replies 44

@Jose-Humberto1 

I'm not sure if this applies to your situation, but the US taxes its citizens (not just residents) on their worldwide income no matter where they may reside, even if it's permanently outside of the US.

Thank you! Amanda. 
This would not apply to me as I am a Mexican citizen (and National) and I have never hold any citizenship other than Mexican. 
thank you though! 

@Jose-Humberto1   US law now requires everyone to submit their tax information or be subject to backup withholding. 

As a non-US resident you are required to fill out a W8BEN form. 

There is a help article here. 

https://www.airbnb.co.uk/help/article/3165/frequently-asked-questions-about-taxes?_set_bev_on_new_do...

Hi Michelle.  Your information is incorrect. US tax law requires what you say above only in connection with US Hosts who are citizens or US tax residents.  The link you posted says this expressly (which is consistent with international laws). 

“This year-end tax reporting primarily applies to US Hosts who are US citizens or US tax residents.”