Airbnb unlawfully withholding amounts

Airbnb unlawfully withholding amounts

Hi, I recently just had an issue that had not occurred before. 
airbnb withheld income tax as if I were a US resident. 
my listing is a Mexican listing, I am a Mexican resident (both physically and for tax purposes), my property is in Mexico, my guest was also Mexican, yet Airbnb withheld money from a payout as withholding for US income tax. They said that this applies to all US listings (mine is not) and that I have to fill out a form that is only applicable if I was a US resident (which I won’t fill out as it could have adverse tax consequences from other sources of income I have). 
customer service has been terrible to I was thinking of seeking consumer protection since Airbnb is not answering my emails anymore. 
Does anyone know if there is anything else I can do before seeking a legal action? Thank you. 

44 Replies 44

Thank you, @Sarah977 

Hi Michelle 

You seem to be knowledgeable with the issue. So I'm a US citizen residing in the US but with a listing in Mexico. Just recently we got our RFC to file in Mexico due to the fact they started to withhold funds.  For last i did receive a 1099k from the US which I didn't claim ony US taxes. I figured I'm paying the Mexican government for that. I've ask a few CPA s about this and seem to be lost about it here in the US. Do i need to file some kind of exemption with the IRS for that income? Am I going to get double taxed?  Please advice

Nicolas-and-Maria0
Level 2
Lisbon, Portugal

Hello Jose-Humberto,

EXACTLY the same is happening to me here in Lisbon, Portugal. I really don't like to be coerced filling in a form (WBEN) making ABSOLUTELY no sense to me.

I submit every year a withholding tax form to airbnb (here in Portugal it is RFI 21) to avoid double taxation but for some reason I am now paying taxes in the US !!!

I just wondered what you have decided to do and if you could give me some feedback. Thank you!

Hi Nicolas and Maria!