Am I being taken advantage of?

Carolyn637
Level 2
Cincinnati, OH

Am I being taken advantage of?

Hello,

I have been using AirBnB for several years without any problems. However, I recently requested a 60+ day stay and the host contacted me and told me the listed price was incorrect. She sent me an updated offer but did not tell me that she changed the dates of the reservation from 60+ days to 30 days. I didn't notice the date change and accepted the revised offer under the assumption that I was paying for 2 months, not 1. If the host had sent an offer with my original dates and the revised price, I would have declined. The price per night has now doubled and I contacted the host, explained my mistake and asked if she could cancel the reservation without my having to forfeit my entire money paid. She said she was ok with the cancellation but she said I needed to make the cancellation myself, because there was no place on the website or app for her to cancel the reservation. Is that true? Isn't there a dashboard where hosts can cancel reservations? She then said if I wanted to rebook with her, I shouldn't use AirBnB but instead contact her directly. I am concerned that I am being taken advantage of. First, she did not honor the listed price. Second, she changed the stay dates without telling me even though her calendar was open for those days. Third, she may have lied to me about her ability to cancel the reservation. Lastly, she asked me to book outside AirBnB. I have contacted the support folks at AirBnB and I am waiting for an answer. Is this acceptable behavior from a host? I am concerned that I am being taken advantage of.

Thank you in advance for your replies.

10 Replies 10
Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Carolyn637 Here is how the long term cancellation policy works:

https://www.airbnb.ca/home/cancellation_policies#long-term