Am new to Airbnb. How come guests do not accept my pre approvals?

Vjollca0
Level 1
London, United Kingdom

Am new to Airbnb. How come guests do not accept my pre approvals?

Hi,

I am very new to Airbnb. I created an account about 1.5 week ago, I did receive 6 requests and I have replied with a pre approval. However, I have not had anyone accepting my pre approvals. Am I doing something wrong? 

A bit confused.

6 Replies 6
Donna15
Level 10
Delft, Netherlands

@Vjollca0, I'm a little confused as well. Though you've not yet had a completed booking, I note that you've been able to active Instant Book. Normally, this is not possible. Also, if you have IB on, guests don't need to make a request for pre-approval. 

I wonder whether there's some kind of glitch. 

I hope someone more experienced than I am can help. 

In any case, before you take on any guests, I strongly recommend that you turn off Instant Book. Especially for a new host, IB can be a recipe for disaster, as you have little chance to get a clear idea as to who is booking. 

I also suggest the following:

1. Request a Secure Deposit. I can almost guarantee that at some point you'd regret not having one;

2. Change your cancellation policy from flexible to moderate or - my own preference - even strict;

3. Get rid of the Extra Guest No Charge box, as it's misleading. You can do this by going to your settings entering a very high price (e.g. $250) in the box, and hitting Save. Once the page refreshes, the box will be gone;

4. Create a much more comprehensive and clear set of House Rules. You need to state specifically, even in the smallest detail, what the boundaries are. 

Vjollca0
Level 1
London, United Kingdom

@Donna15 Hi. I thanks for your reply, I think I will follow your advice it kind of make sense actually.

Mark74
Level 2
Hellevoetsluis, Netherlands