Are days blocked during a booking request?

Dylan1
Level 2
Santa Monica, CA

Are days blocked during a booking request?

I've had some bad experiences this summer when I okayed renters who had no reviews. So now I ask them a few questions first.

Are the days blocked from the calendar while I decide whether to accept or decline their request? I just got a text message to that effect:

[Airbnb] [AIRBNB] ___ would like to stay on May 21-24 for $___. If you don't accept or decline, May 21-24 will remain blocked.

I responded within 5 minutes asking the prospective renter my questions and now it's been 24 hours and I haven't heard back.

Is the property really now blocked out while I try to ascertain if the renter would be a good fit? This feels like it's a new policy. Is it?

8 Replies 8
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Dylan1   If it's a request as opposed to an inquiry, and the guest doesn't answer your questions, you can't just let the request go over 24 hours without accepting or declining.  If they don't answer in time, just decline the request.

Thanks for your reply. I still have questions.

- Are the dates blocked out during the process? (Seems bad -- it would hold the listing hostage to slow repliers.)

- Is the policy new? I haven't seen the calendar blocked out before when I got requests.

- How many requests can I turn down before it hurts my rating? I'm wondering if I should simply not accept requests from those without reviews.

@Dylan1 Yes dates are blocked. No this isn't new.