Bad feeling: guest immediately asked about lockbox

Answered!

Bad feeling: guest immediately asked about lockbox

Hi, I am brand new to renting on airbnb. We just put our listing up last night and had it set on instant booking. (I have since changed it to "ask to book") We got 10 bookings! I was not prepared for that and am feeling a bit overwhelmed. I do not want our house used as a party house. One of the guests gave me pause: he has no reviews, is brand new to airbnb (despite the fact that he states in his description that he loves renting cabins in the woods away from the grime of the city), listed that 9 adults will be coming (our house is well-suited for kids; it has two sets of bunk beds), and the first communication with me was whether or not we have a lockbox/smartbox to get in (which could imply that he doesn't want to meet anyone at check-in). Am I being too paranoid, or do you think he may use this as a party house and I should cancel his reservation? I can do so without penalties now but I'd have to state that I'm uncomformable with him. I'm leaning towards that (my gut tells me to), but he has my address since he booked it and I guess I am just worried about this conflict/his reaction/disappointment and possible retaliation? Plus I feel kinda bad canceling on him. (Although is reservation is  2 months from now). What do you guys advise?

1 Best Answer
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico