Best check-out day of week for weekly rentals

Barbara1498
Level 2
Trenton, ME

Best check-out day of week for weekly rentals

I'm new to air bnb and am offering a listing in a high demand tourist area near Acadia National Park in Maine. I am currently limiting to weekly rentals because it's hard to find reliable cleaners who can show  up on demand and I don't want to spend my life doing it myself. Most weekly vacation rentals in this area have a Saturday check in/check out. But that means most cleaners are booked on Saturdays. Is there another day of the week that would be optimal? If I changed to Sunday or Monday would that make a negative impact on my marketability?

Also, to start off I have not yet limited the day of the week as I would like to see what people seem to prefer. Now I've got my first 3 bookings(yay!).  One  goes Saturday to Saturday, one starts  on a Wednesday and the third starts on a Thursday.  Obviously I'll either have to change to a specific day or go to shorter bookings. I'm sure I'm making a few novice errors but that's ok. Just experimenting! Nevertheless I would love to learn what has worked best for others.

1 Reply 1
Ann72
Level 10
New York, NY

@Barbara1498 I'm on the Blue Hill Peninsula, where tradition has Saturday-to-Saturday rentals like yours.  When I started, I had a cleaner who was able to come on the other days (for the most part).  But she didn't like it.  

I didn't want to switch to weekly-only in order to have a calendar that didn't vary.  My bookings were coming in all over the place, 2 nights, 5 nights, check in or out any day of the week.

I looked in the local papers for cleaning help and found someone at $40 an hour.  I tried her in the off season and she was unreliable.  So I put an ad in the Weekly Packet for $35 an hour.  I had more than a dozen applicants and chose two - one main person and one alternate, as the main cleaner had a lot of weekend turnovers down in Stonington.