Booking cancellation - now stating Covid

Answered!
Phil3258
Level 2
Belfast, United Kingdom

Booking cancellation - now stating Covid

Hi all,

I am quite new to hosting, and would welcome some advice. I have had a guest cancel, initially stating 2 of their party had flu, and now stating it is Covid.

The timeline is this:

Evening of 14th October - guest books for 2 nights on 22nd October

Morning of 17th October - guest contacts me to state 2 of her party have flu, and they will have to cancel. My cancellation policy is strict, and as it is within 7 days of the stay, there is no refund.

2 hours later, guest contacts me to state it is actually Covid and requests a refund. They attach a screenshot stating that a named person has a positive Covid test, which was taken on 14th October (i.e. before the booking was made). I do not know if the person named on the screenshot is actually one of the party.

My concerns are:

I was initially told 2 guests had flu - 2 hours later this has changed to Covid.

I don't know if the screenshot actually relates to someone in the party.

I think the story has changed to try to avail of the extenuating circumstances policy.

This person booked to stay in my home, knowing that one of their party had undertaken a Covid test.

It is peak season for school holidays, and I am unlikely to get a further booking at this late stage.

What would you do? Thanks.

1 Best Answer
Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Phil3258 The covid EC policy doesn’t apply here, unless the booking guest  is ill with Covid. I would simply direct the guest to review the policy, and stand my ground. They will likely go around you and complain to CS, who will no doubt grant a full refund anyway, as all the guest has to do is ‘attest’ to the fact they have Covid. 

https://www.airbnb.ca/help/article/2701/extenuating-circumstances-policy-and-the-coronavirus-covid19

View Best Answer in original post

14 Replies 14
Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada