Calendar Integration - Cancelling reservation?

Kenzie84
Level 1
Ottawa, CA

Calendar Integration - Cancelling reservation?

Hey!

I’ve been hosting on Airbnb since September 2019, and recently became a Superhost. Have been loving it so far, and no issues. I got a reservation in January for July from a guest who was asking about our cancellation policy (moderate) the day he booked. He also asked about having 7 guests in the unit (our max is 4, and we usually just get couples or two couples.. we have a 2bed 2bath, just have a queen and a double). I said I would charge an extra $50 a person a few weeks ago and he never responded. I would like to cancel this reservation so my unit doesn’t get destroyed but I don’t know how to do that. will I be penalized? “**bleep**ty guest” doesn’t sound like extenuating circumstances but we don’t allow “parties”. 

And then today... I get a great reservation for 2 people on VRBO, over the dates that my sketchy guests are booked. My calendar on Airbnb is integrated with our VRBO calendar. No idea how this happened but I would like to keep the new guy obviously lol... 

What would the more experienced hosts here do!?

please help 🙂 

1 Reply 1
Rowena29
Level 10
Australia

@Kenzie84 

You can't rely on the calendar synch always working - as you have discovered  - even when it does work there is often a lag - potentially allowing for double bookings.   Some hosts always carry their phone with them, so that when they get a booking via one platfrom they can quickly block it off on another _ you can still have your calendar synched - it doesn't hurt to double block as it were.

sounds like you have IB - in which case you can get 3 free cancellations a year.