Calendar blocked due to not complying with enhanced cleaning protocol ...

Answered!
Jeannet121
Level 3
Cambridge, United Kingdom

Calendar blocked due to not complying with enhanced cleaning protocol ...

Hi Everyone, 

I have been hosting through Airbnb since 2013 and have been a super host for several years now. I live in a studio in the garden and share amenities in the house, where I make three rooms available for (mostly long-term) guests - visiting scholars, interns, etc.

When the advisory Covid cleaning protocol was introduced, I consulted with my long-term guests, and we all agreed we did not want to live like that (i.e. wearing masks) in our own home. When the cleaning protocol was made mandatory I phoned Airbnb and explained that although I complied with the national and local laws and guidelines around Covid, I could not commit to the requirements of the 36 page cleaning booklet. I asked if I should cancel my bookings, and they suggested I wait and see what happens.

Whenever anyone expressed an interest in coming to stay I was upfront with them and explained that although we were being careful and compliant with national and local guidelines around Covid, I was not adhering to the Airbnb cleaning protocol. By far most people agreed this was acceptable to them. 

Nothing did, in fact, happen until last week, when I received an email to say my calendar had been blocked as I was non-compliant with the cleaning protocol. I phoned Airbnb, explained my situation and informed them that sadly we would have to part ways. They explained the requirements were to 'keep me safe', but I am vaccinated and work outside the home in any case (so a degree of risk is part of my life), and my guests tend to come for longer stays (1 month or more - often several months at a time), so we are all part of a household bubble.