Can we make guest sign an eco-pledge before accepting them as guests?

Benjamin614
Level 2
Tulum, Mexico

Can we make guest sign an eco-pledge before accepting them as guests?

Dear Fellow-Hosts,

I am a newbee and like other Airbn-Hosts I am trying to reduce the impact on the environment that our listing and its prospect guests might cause. As hosts we can only try to make every guest/traveler aware of their impact and maybe nudge them into a more eco-friendly behavior. I am new to Airbnb and I am just getting to know system. Hence, I don’t know if this question has already been dealt with:

• Can hosts incorporate a pledge into the Airbnb-Booking masks that guests would have to sign (with a click maybe?) before being allowed to proceed with the booking be it via Instant-or By request?

• What are your experiences with such “eco-pledges” (on paper or online) and what other “guest strategies” have you been able to successfully implement with regard to lower electricity, water usage or reduced waste accumulation (i.e. plastic bottles/trash).

Thank you for all your thoughts and suggestions in advance!

Happy Hosting!

2 Replies 2
Gordon0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

>>Can hosts incorporate a pledge into the Airbnb-Booking masks that guests would have to sign (with a click maybe?) before being allowed to proceed with the booking be it via Instant-or By request?<<

From a platform point of view, no. But you could add it as a 'rule'.

However: a) most don't read the rules and b) you're likely to narrow down the number of guests clicking your way. Some like-minded souls will play ball, other won't.

As for printing off a form for them to fill in is a bit hypocritical.

Benjamin614
Level 2
Tulum, Mexico

Thanks for the reply. 

Printing Form would be basically an acknowledgement of the "House Rules" with regard to my location. Nothing to fill in. There are already there.