Cancellations 6+ months out

Lisa1145
Level 1
Otakeho, New Zealand

Cancellations 6+ months out

Hi there

I'm pretty new to air bnb so would love someone to help me understand the following.

We had someone for book for 3 months in January 2019.  I sent special offers, amended it a couple of times and the transaction history looked very messy.  I asked them to cancel and rebook with their confirmed dates.  I assumed since it was so far out and I had not received any $ yet, that would be the simplest way of sorting it out.

They have now cancelled I had an email telling me they canceled but also stating their funds will not be released to them until the check in day (January 2019), but gives me an option to send them $.  If I send $ (but haven't physically got any money) how does that work?  

Very confused!!!  I'm pretty sure now i've made a real mess of this when only trying to simplify!....

Look forward to any insight!

Many thanks

Lisa

9 Replies 9
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

Well you get the first month when a long term cancellation cancels, must admit I have never used special offer but whatever you ended up offering would apply, you get paid as usual, the day after they would have booked in.

David

Thanks for responding. Sorry that does not make sense to me. 

The booking was so far out that as a host there would be no cancellation fee, they would be entitled to 100% refund.  Are you saying they will not get any of the $ they have paid to air bnb back until Jan 2019?

I have not received anything to my bank account for this booking yet.

@Lisa1145    If the reservation is more than 28 days the first month is not refundable doesn't matter how far in the future the check-in date is.

Have you tried the steps to refund a guest – go to Your reservations, select the reservation, and click Issue refund.

If you decide to send them $$$ out of your pocket you won't be paid until their check-in date.

Lisa1145
Level 1
Otakeho, New Zealand