Cancellations.

Bernard1000
Level 3
England, United Kingdom

Cancellations.

Hi, I am new to Airbnb (4 months) and we host with pets.

We took a booking for 3 nights and it was not until our second conversation it became apparent that the guests intended to leave the dogs in the house while they went to work.  I contacted them and said i was uncomfortable with that, they described the dogs and I said I would discuss it with my partner.

Before I could discuss the situation, the guests came back and said they had found other accomodation.

I cancelled the booking only to find, I have been docked $50 of my next booking and the money is being sent to the guests, even, though they had not paid any money and my calendar has been blocked for those days.

I feel like a three times loser here.

We have had rave 5 star revues, made every effort to make a real go of this venture, flowers, milk, tea and coffee ready for all guests,

this is a bit of a kick in the teeth.

My question; can I appeal this? and if so, where?

7 Replies 7
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Bernard1000 

No need to cancel the booking (and get penalized)

The guest had to cancel the booking or you (or the guest) could have shortened the stay ( "change" option on the reservation)

Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Bernard1000 Below is an Airbnb help article on penalties that apply when a host cancels. In this case, the guest needed to cancel. You can try contacting Airbnb to explain what happened, that you didn’t understand the way the system works, and see if they will reverse the penalties.

Do spend some time in the help pages learning the ropes. 

https://www.airbnb.ca/help/article/990/as-a-host-what-penalties-apply-if-i-cancel-a-reservation-for-...

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Bernard1000