Cancelling a booking

Answered!
Melanie467
Level 2
Lumsden, New Zealand

Cancelling a booking

Hello all

I am new to hosting but have been a traveller often.  As a traveller, I would request a booking and my credit card would be charged but the host would get back to me if they could accommodate me.  If they could not accomodate me the money would be refunded.  Were they cancelling my booking when this happenend?

Please help.  I have just posted my first listing about 2 hours ago only to have someone do an auto booking for today (and it is already 9pm!).  I was not able to accomodate him (being so late notice) so I needed to cancel the booking.  I was not able to cancel as it was on the day of the arrival??

I think I have already gone amiss on my first day!  Very confused.  I have adjusted my booking settings to not automatic now but I read that that is not ideal.

Thanks all.

Mel

1 Best Answer
Susie111
Level 10
Tasmania, Australia

@Melanie467

Hi, my advise is to call Airbnb ASAP and try explain to them what happened.

Sorry, I don't know the airbnb NZ phone number.

Please don't cancell the booking yourself let Airbnb do it for you.

Because they will penalize you for cancelling it youself.

Hope it helps, and as @Gerry-And-Rashid0 said please take your time and read as much as 

possible on this great CC to get as much information as you possible can, how to be a great Airbnb host.

I talk from my own personal experience. I have learned so much myself and still learning!

Welcome and happy hosting!

View Best Answer in original post

5 Replies 5
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Melanie467

Hi - must have been stressful, all I can say is that you need to understand everything about the booking process BEFORE going live. You had instant book switched on, you accept guests at last minute (we have set our to 3 days notice), etc. Have you set a minimum and maximum number of nights?