Claiming for USA taxes on a part-time rental in Mexico

Rachel30
Level 1
Todos los Santos, Mexico

Claiming for USA taxes on a part-time rental in Mexico

I rent my house in Mexico, and for a few months out of the year, we rent out our 2nd room on airbnb. Last year I received a 1099 from Airbnb to file with my claim. This year they're only sending them to those who earn $20,000+. We've brought in almost $3,000, but do I need to claim it or not? And if so, how? It's not officially registered as a vacation property. The house is in Mexico, but the payments go to my USA account.

Thanks!

9 Replies 9
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

@Rachel30 When I do my taxes on Turbo Tax one of the questions is "did you have income earned outside the US".  I'm no tax expert, but I think you do need to report all income regardless in what country the income was generated especially if the payouts were made to a bank in the US.

Keep in mind, Airbnb has a record of all your payouts even if they didn't report them to the IRS in the form of a 1099. 

Marla6
Level 1
Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Hello,

I have a similar question. I rent out a few studios in Playa del Carmen year round, and pland to file the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion back in the U.S.(I am a U.S. citizen and all payments go to my U.S. bank via Paypal- I don't have a Mexican bank account. I will be in Mexico, however, for over 11 months of the year). My question is, as this has turned into an almost full time job and I expect to make at least $20K in net profit, what, if anything, do I have to file with the Mexican authorities or in Mexico? 

If anyone has any experience with this in Mexico, it would be a huge help!

Thanks!

Maria, Did you get an answer on this? We bought a home in Tulum in January and are still trying to figure out if and how we pay taxes in Mexico. Do we need to pay the occupancy tax or does Airbnb do it? We live in the USA full time. 

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico