Cleaning Fee covers what exactly?

Chadrick-and-Alison0
Level 2
Kingston, Jamaica

Cleaning Fee covers what exactly?

Looking for some quick help with this issue . . . I am new to hosting here and currently have my first booking in my listing. My understanding of the Cleaning Fee, is that it covers cleaning for the guests arrival (and in some ways cleaning after), but not for cleaning during.

The Guest in this booking asked me at check-in when she can expect the apartmetnt to be refreshed. She said she uses Airbnb all the time and that is what she has come to know, 2/3 days into the booking. Her booking with me is for 6 nights. She also said that she did not see the purpose of paying for cleaning service if she was not going to "benefit from using it".

Also, I hate asaumptions but what could the expectation of "refreshed" be? New bed linens?? New towels??

I have searched through the Airbnb site and cannot find anywhere answers or guidance to this issue . . . 

As a first time host, first booking etc. I am fearful of the "dreaded" bad review especially on something that I may have to speak to the Guest about. 

Help is greatly appreciated!!!

41 Replies 41

So glad you posted this response @Ange2 as I had begun to think about adding the fee into the nightly fee instead and adding a standard cleaning day (time slot) for particular length of stays. Appreciate the response! Thank you!

Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

I agree with the other hosts, @Chadrick-and-Alison0, that perhaps you are being taken advantage of by these guests.  Be sure to provide an honest review which would include that the guest expectations are better met in a hotel environment.

Another reason for a cleaning fee is a strategy of keeping the nightly rate lower for longer bookings.  I seldom have one night bookings because the cleaning fee is high if only one night, but when the booking is 3-4 nights, my preferred booking, it does not seem to be that much.