Cleaning Fee covers what exactly?

Chadrick-and-Alison0
Level 2
Kingston, Jamaica

Cleaning Fee covers what exactly?

Looking for some quick help with this issue . . . I am new to hosting here and currently have my first booking in my listing. My understanding of the Cleaning Fee, is that it covers cleaning for the guests arrival (and in some ways cleaning after), but not for cleaning during.

The Guest in this booking asked me at check-in when she can expect the apartmetnt to be refreshed. She said she uses Airbnb all the time and that is what she has come to know, 2/3 days into the booking. Her booking with me is for 6 nights. She also said that she did not see the purpose of paying for cleaning service if she was not going to "benefit from using it".

Also, I hate asaumptions but what could the expectation of "refreshed" be? New bed linens?? New towels??

I have searched through the Airbnb site and cannot find anywhere answers or guidance to this issue . . . 

As a first time host, first booking etc. I am fearful of the "dreaded" bad review especially on something that I may have to speak to the Guest about. 

Help is greatly appreciated!!!

41 Replies 41
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

@Chadrick-and-Alison0 It is not stated in airbnb's policy. Since airbnb started as a sharing economy platform, it is assumed the conditions hosts provide are more home-like than full-time servicing.

To avoid problems, I put a clear message in my profile what the cleaning fee covers. I guess you, too, need to explain to your guests  what YOUR rules are. In areas where there are a lot of hosts, they might compete to attract guests or encourage them to leave better reviews by actually servicing them like you described. But it is left to the host's discretion to do so or not. I wouldn't. Those demanding guests never leave good reviews (from my experience).

// "The only person you can trust is yourself"