Collecting Local tax

Simon92
Level 1
Albany, OR

Collecting Local tax

We have a home on the Oregon Coast and there is a local 10% Transient Tax. There is also a State tax at 1.8%. AirBNB is collecting the state level tax automatically but not the local tax.

I ahve stated in our posting that the tax will need to be collected. I was told by AirBNB that I can add it as anadditional charge after the home is booked. However I do not see how to do that.

Any help would be appreciated. Collecting at time of arrival is not as an option as we do not live where the rental home is located.

51 Replies 51

I too have been told to use the resolution center to collect local taxes. Now that I have contacted airbnb again about the resolutcenter  of functioning for guests I am toldd NOT to use the resolution center for local taxes. Here is what they said:

"Su, Jun 6, 02:48 CDT:

Hi Heather,

My name is Su and I am a Trip Experience Case Manager at Airbnb.

Apologies that this is happening, however, Resolution Centre is not used to collect local taxes.

As per this FAQ: https://www.airbnb.ie/help/article/481/how-do-taxes-work-for-hosts I would like to let you know that "if you determine that you need to collect tax, you can usually either add it within a Special Offer or ask your guests to pay it in person. In each case, it's important that guests are informed of the exact tax amount prior to booking. If you choose to collect tax outside of your listing's rates, please note that it should be collected only upon arrival and that we are unable to assist with collection."

However, I would like to understand what is happening with this specific case. If you could please provide me with the reservation code I will look into it as an exception this time. However, we would appreciate if you can collect your local taxes in person or include them in the special offer moving forward.

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Su
www.airbnb.com/help"