Cutlery going missing!

Answered!
Cormac0
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

Cutlery going missing!

Hi Folks

I've only had 5 hostings as I'm new to airbnb but in that time I've had a spoon and knife go missing from a brand new set inaddition to this two towels have also gone missing, can anybody please advice me how to put an end to this problem as I feel uncomfortable counting them in front of my guests.

I also feel going through the reclaim process for such small items, not withstanding its impossible to buy one knife or spoon is more hassle then its worth.

1 Best Answer
Jim-and-Marcia0
Level 10
Vancouver, WA

It always seems to be the forks! 🙂  I check our kitchen inventory after each visit and we are now down by three forks, but I haven't blamed the guests or given them a bad review. If I thought it was intentional pilfering, I would, but accidents and oversights can happen. Sometimes I wonder if a fork went down the garbage disposal, was damaged, and/or thrown away with the garbage. Or was someone snacking and took it with them in their car?....hmmm.

Proactively, I've done this now....

I provide disposable picnic supplies so guests won't take dishes and cutlery out of the house. A picnic blanket and ice chest also are available for guests to use and return.

I established a house rule about not taking towels and linens out of the house. In the garage I have a stack of five striped beach towels designated for outside use, which guests can borrow and return. I also have a bucket with disposable blue paper towels and clean, ragged, cut-up old towels they can use for cleaning extra dirty belongings, their car, etc. (got this idea from a hotel).

One of our house rules, "Take care not to cause damages, but if you accidentally do, let us know right away." , seems to work for honest people who make mistakes.

Loss prevention starts with establishing reasonable house rules, keeping an inventory, being observant, and establishing postive guest relations.