Damage to my apartment

Answered!

Damage to my apartment

I am new to the airbnb community as a host. Can someone advise me on the process if a guest does any damage to my apartment ? Broke beach chairs or put a big stain in comforter for example: is there a way to charge guest and get reimbursed for any of these problems ? or do we as owners eat the costs of any damages ? Any and all advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you,karl

1 Best Answer

Steve,

Thank you very much for the feedback. Just out of curiosity, does airbnb even collect a deposit ? or do they seek reimbursement after the host reports a loss ?  Lastly, what if the guest denies they broke something ?  All advice is appreciated

Thanks,

karl

View Best Answer in original post

28 Replies 28

To file on my insurance effects my rates and also has a high deductible.  I should not have to file my insurance.  What is the Host Guarentee for if not for this type of situation.  Airbnb insurance should pay. They don't want to file.  This is a common problem with them.

AirBnb does not have Insurance, it does have the Host Guarantee which has been described as about as much use as a chocolate tea pot.

Not even sure the Guarantee would cover this, I can see a strong case that it does not.

David

Yep! AirBnb trust and safety is a joke.

@Shena3

The only thing likely to work in your case is involving the media.

David

Yes. Which media do you think would be most effective?

Not sure it matters, all you want is a Journalist to cal AirBnB PR Dept and say they are doing a story and want their comments.

David

Moe, that's really concerning! I'm rather new to Airbnb.  I thought they were meant to support hosts.  I've just had my first experience bad enough to dispute.  I hope they have my back.  If not, I'm definitely done hosting.  Too big a risk if they aren't backing us up like they say they do.  I hope you did end up with a positive resolution to your issue. 😞