Damage to my apartment

Answered!

Damage to my apartment

I am new to the airbnb community as a host. Can someone advise me on the process if a guest does any damage to my apartment ? Broke beach chairs or put a big stain in comforter for example: is there a way to charge guest and get reimbursed for any of these problems ? or do we as owners eat the costs of any damages ? Any and all advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you,karl

1 Best Answer

Steve,

Thank you very much for the feedback. Just out of curiosity, does airbnb even collect a deposit ? or do they seek reimbursement after the host reports a loss ?  Lastly, what if the guest denies they broke something ?  All advice is appreciated

Thanks,

karl

View Best Answer in original post

28 Replies 28
Steve143
Level 10
Limerick, Ireland

Hello @Karl40,

You can go to your reservations and select the reservation concerned. Then click on "Send or request" money for that reservation.

then click on "Request money" and then on the button for "Damaged or missing items" and follow from there.

The following article has some pertinent information on requesting compensation.

What is the resolution centre?

Steve.

Steve,

Thank you very much for the feedback. Just out of curiosity, does airbnb even collect a deposit ? or do they seek reimbursement after the host reports a loss ?  Lastly, what if the guest denies they broke something ?  All advice is appreciated

Thanks,

karl

Hello @Karl40,

The article at the link in my last post has a section on getting Airbnb involved if you can't reach an agreement with the guest.

When a host has a security deposit on their listing Airbnb doesn't collect that from the guest in advance.

Typing "deposit" in the "Ask a question or search by keyword" box that shows up after clicking on "Help" throws up the articles below.

How does Airbnb handle security deposits?

What happens if a host claims on a security deposit?

Steve.