Declining a potential guest

Deb35
Level 1
Richmond, Australia

Declining a potential guest

Im very new to hosting on Air bnb.

My first guests are due in under 10 days which is great but some parts of the set up process have been confusing and I started receiving requests before I realised my Listing was live.

I've since read that a host is only allowed to Decline a certain number of times.

Is this right?  If so, how many and what is and isn't considered an acceptable reason to Decline a request?

Thanks,

Deb

7 Replies 7
Marit-Anne0
Level 10
Bergen, Norway

You may decline within reason, but I think if you decline a lot your ranking in the search results will drop considerably.  I decline if there is a mismatch like families with children when the listing says unsuitable for children.  

I also decline those I do not feel comfortable with - especially those asking for discounts.  The other day I had to decline a request for next summer - I was not prepared for requests that far ahead as it has never happened before.  

Thanks for your prompt reply, good to know.

Regards,

Deb

Cathy158
Level 1
Kingston, Canada

Expecting my first guest in 1 week! I'm getting lots of shorter term bookings, which is what I wanted but I got a request from a student who wanted to rent my house for 4 months.  I inquired as to why he needed such a big house for just one person and he said he was bringing some of his friends.  I declined him on the basis that he didn't fit my requirements for bookings.  He has contacted me again saying he can't find another place.  I am feeling a little uncomfortable with the situation.  What should I do?