Difficult Host - Please Advise

Penny31
Level 5
United Kingdom

Difficult Host - Please Advise

Hi everyone.

I was hoping to get this resolved on my own, but there's no accounting for other people's behaviours, so I'm out of ideas at this point. (also, I had posted this already but now my entire post has disappeared, so trying again.)

I reserved a long-term rental in the north-east U.S. (for nearly 2 months) so that I could enjoy the beach city, but also to explore that entire east coast border. When I communicated with the host initially via BnB, I was very clear about what I do, what I'm looking for, and that I work as a freelance writer in need of good internet connection.

Furthermore, the host has a second room on the same level as the one I was enquiring about, and she said she barely ever gets any guests there and, if ever, they're short term. She also offered to put a lock on my bedroom door when I enquired about privacy with another guest on the same level, and all seemed well.

Anyway, since I've arrived, there were several issues off the bat. Firstly, she hadn't put the lock on the door, saying that no one else was there, so I should be fine. That later changed when she booked a family of 3 in the other room for nearly the same duration as my stay, so I had to remind her of the need for a lock, which made me feel awkward...like, asking for extra things, when in fact it was part of our initial agreement that she didn't uphold.